Our Solar System



Our solar system consists of the sun, nine planets (and their moons), an asteroid belt, and many comets and meteors. The sun is the center of our solar system; the planets, over 61 moons, the asteroids, comets, meteoroids and other rocks and gas all orbit the Sun.

Our solar system is the Milky Way galaxy.  There are millions of other systems in this galaxy.  It is a galaxy that is part of the universe.

Planets move in  just two ways.  They turn around and around like a spinning top which is called rotation. 

As they rotate, they follow a path around the sun.  This is called an orbit.  So, we say that all the planets orbit or revolve around the sun.

We also have a force of gravity that keeps all the planets up  in space and make them work the way they do.  The Earth's gravity keeps us from floating in air.


Lift Off


The Sky